narrow banner 09

NAIRTL National Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2012

2012 Award winners (L-R): Kevin Nolan, RCSI, Seán Ó Foghlú, 2012 Awards presenter, Liam Leonard, IT Sligo, Martin Fellenz, TCD, Paula Kenny, IT Sligo, John Morrissey, NUI Galway, Jessica Mannion, IT Sligo, Tony Ryan, UCC, Maresa McGee, IT Sligo, Fergus Timmons, IT Sligo, Áine Hyland, Chair of Awards Selection Committee, Kevin Sludds, IT Sligo, Marcus Hopkins, IT Sligo, Sinead Meade (front), IT Sligo, Sinead Barrins (back), IT Sligo, Paul van Kampen, DCU, and Grace Neville, Director of NAIRTL

Congratulations to the fifteen recipients of the 2012 NAIRTL National Awards for Excellence in Teaching (2012 Award Winners) who received their award at a prize giving ceremony in Dublin Castle on Monday, September 17.

The 2012 Awards were presented by Seán Ó Foghlú, Secretary General of the Department of Education and Skills, who congratulated the Award winners saying “you have mastered both the art and the science of teaching to benefit students and for this we are here to thank you and to celebrate you”.

Speaking at the event, Professor Aine Hyland, Chair of the Awards Selection Committee, said “In setting up this scheme five years ago, Ireland took its place among the countries of the world which truly value excellent teaching in higher education - and it is no coincidence that these are also the countries whose universities are at the top of the international higher education league tables… including the US, the UK, Canada, and Australia.”

The 2012 Award winners represent the outstanding standard of many teachers in Irish higher education, many of whom having already received a Teaching Award in their own institution. Details of the 2013 National Awards for Excellence in Teaching initiative will be made available in coming months, but, in the interim, please download the 2012 brochure here.

Upcoming Events
University College Cork
EuroSoTL 2015: Bridging Boundaries through the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning
Inaugural EuroSoTL ConferenceEuroSoTL 2015 was held in University College Cork on 8-9 June 2015 and attracted more than 300 delegates. The conference theme Bridging Boundaries through the Scholarship of Teaching ...
8 June, 2015
University of Limerick
EdTech2015 : Beyond the Horizon -Policy, Practice and Possibilities
Beyond the Horizon: Policy, Practice and PossibilitiesRecent European and national policy reports have identified the enabling and transformative role of technology in supporting learning over the medium term at individual, ...
28 May, 2015

Workgroups login

If you are a member of a work group, please log in here.

Forgot your password? Click here.
Copyright 2010 NAIRTL. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy
Site by Rocket Media